Tuesday, March 11, 2008

7 New Ways to Go to Hell

I guess the Pope really isn't all that busy these days so he had to come up with 7 new deadly sins to help the Church fit into the modern age. I guess after 1500 years, an update seemed like a good idea. I have to rewatch the movie "Seven" just to think of what the old 7 Deadlies were.

Here's an article about the "updates": Vatican Issues List of Modern-Day Seven Deadly Sins

The New Mortal Sins:
1.Genetic modification
2.Human experimentations
3.Polluting the environment
4.Social injustice
5.Causing poverty
6.Financial gluttony
7.Taking drugs

Bummer for the potheads and litter bugs of the world. Your soul will be burning eternally. (Is it coincidence or does it seem to me that pretty much all of these are squarely pointing at the United States?)

None of these things are good, but aren't these things already covered under one of 10 Commandments or one of the original 7 mortal sins? Gluttony, Greed, Lust, Wrath, Pride, Envy, or Sloth....

I've always been and always will be a Catholic, but this Pope is getting on my nerves...I'm not crazy about abortion or cloning or crack smoking, but if people don't already see them as sins, declaring them such isn't really going to change anything. Pope Benedict is just making us look even more stuck in the Middle Ages than we already seem.

One positive note, though, is maybe now that there are 7 New Deadly Sins, Hollywood can make a sequel to "Seven" and name it something like "Seven....More"